People

Jeanette Kohl – Co-Director
History of Art | jeanette.kohl@ucr.edu
Jeanette Kohl is an Associate Professor for Italian Renaissance Art in the Department of the History of Art, with interests in deep interdisciplinarity, intellectual history, and medical humanities. She earned her PhD from the University of Trier in Germany. Before joining UCR in 2008, she was an Assistant Professor at the University of Leipzig/Germany and a Visiting Professor at the Friedrich-Schiller-University in Jena/Germany. She is the recipient of a number of international fellowships from the Getty Research Institute, the Kaete-Hamburger Center at Köln University, the NEH, the Max-Planck Institute for Art History in Florence/Italy, the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, and the Hamburg Institute for Advanced Study. https://arthistory.ucr.edu/faculty/jeanette-kohl/

Renee DeGuire – Administrative Assistant and Events Manager
(951) 827-1556
|
renee.deguire@ucr.edu
Renee DeGuire began working at UCR in 1989 and joined the Center for Ideas and Society staff in 2010. Renee organizes logistics for in-person events and conferences, handles purchasing and financial transactions, and provides general administrative support for CIS projects. She serves as the liaison for use of Center facilities, including the Stonehaven apartment for visiting scholars.

Dylan Rodríguez- Co-Director
Media & Cultural Studies | dylan.rodriguez@ucr.edu
Dylan Rodríguez is an abolitionist teacher, scholar, and collaborator. He was named to a Freedom Scholar in 2020 and recently served as President of the American Studies Association (2020-2021). He has worked as a Professor at the University of California, Riverside since 2001. Prior to being elected by the faculty to two terms as Chair of the UCR Academic Senate (2016-2020), Dylan served as Chair of the Department of Ethnic Studies (2009-2016). Dylan is the author of three books, most recently White Reconstruction: Domestic Warfare and the Logic of Racial Genocide (Fordham University Press, 2021).

Jessica DiFilippo – Marketing & Project Coordinator
(951) 827-1558
| jessica.difilippo@ucr.edu
Jessica DiFilippo is a graduate from UCR with a BA in Studio Art and holds a Master’s in Library and Information Science. Jessica joined the Center in 2015 and manages the Center’s promotions, website content and digital media. She also helps coordinate project and travel planning for Center events.

Katharine Henshaw – Executive Director
(951) 827-1555
|
katharine.henshaw@ucr.edu
Katharine Henshaw received her BA in Philosophy from UC Riverside and joined the Center in 2013. As Executive Director, Katharine manages the Center’s programming, personnel, outreach  and initiatives.  She also serves the Administrative Coordinator for the UCR Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship Program.

Kathy Ann Hitchens – Grants & Finance Analyst
(951) 827-1555 | kathy.hitchens@ucr.edu
Kathy Hitchens received her Master of Business Administration from the University of Redlands and joined the Center in 2021 as the Grants and Finance Analyst.  Kathy manages the Center’s finances and contributes to faculty achieving their project goals through grant collaboration and financial analysis.

Click on the + links below to expand or contract the page.

Paulo Chagas
Music
paulo.chagas@ucr.edu
Joao Costa Vargas
Anthropology
joao.vargas@ucr.edu
Andrea Denny-Brown
English
andrea.denny-brown@ucr.edu
Cathy Gudis
History
cagudis@ucr.edu
Tammy Ho
Gender & Sexuality Studies
tammyh@ucr.edu
Ruhi Kahn
Media & Cultural Studies
rkhan@ucr.edu
David Lo
Biomedical Sciences
david.lo@ucr.edu
Vorris Nunley
English
vorris.nunley@ucr.edu
Ni’Ja Whitson
Dance
nija.whitson@ucr.edu
Kim Dionne
Anthropology
kim.dionne@ucr.edu
Matthew King
Religious Studies
matthew.king@ucr.edu